Jenkins After Gotch

Waterbury Evening Democrat – May 8, 1908

Tom Jenkins is training faithfully for the wrestling bout with Cazeaux, the French champion, which takes place at Madison Square garden concert hall Monday evening, as upon the result of this contest Jenkins figures another active and lucrative campaign. He intends, if successful with Cazeaux, to force Frank Gotch into a – match to determine the premier wrestler of America and who is best entitled to meet Hackenschmidt for the world’s championship.

Jenkins said yesterday: “I am in better shape and condition than I have been in years and feel confident that if Gotch is capable of giving Hackenschmidt a battle for the championship I certainly have at least an equal chance. I defeated Gotch here in New York, and while it was a prolonged and hard struggle I finally proved his master. I have the Indian sign on Gotch and am convinced that I can beat him any time we meet. If I win against Caxeaux on Monday night I will at once take on Gotch, and it he refuses to meet me will make preparations to go to England and try my luck with Hackenschmidt. Gotch apparently does not want to tackle Hackenschmidt on his own territory, but I have no fear or reluctance about meeting Hack anywhere and will gladly make the trip to the other side if Gotch refuses to wrestle me here.”

Leave a comment