Who Wants Murray?

The Bergen Evening Record – September 8, 1948
By Al Del Greco

A Teaneck young lady who gives her name but requests that it be kept out of print, writes:

“Dear Sir: I have been looking at the wrestling bouts in the Teaneck Armory ever since they started, and it puzzles me to see you continually plug Murray Rothenberg.  Now, I don’t know much about newspaper work, but I do know that a local angle can be badly overplayed.  Murray, to my mind, is not only just a fair wrestler but he acts like a ham when he pretends he is in great pain.

“My nomination for the wrestler who acts with dignified restraint and wrestles hard all the way and is handsome to boot is Don Evans.  There is a hunk of man, believe me.  It grieves me to hear the crowd hoot and jeer him.  Yes, sir, I’ll take Evans; you can have Rothenberg.”

Ed. Note. – What am I offered for Rothenberg?

Leave a comment