Castillo-Castle Fans’ Choice For Thursday Battle

Eugene Register-Guard – October 30, 1934

Pascual Castillo, the handsome Castillian, gets his chance for the justly-famed Spanish Vendetta Thursday night at the armory, when he is to meet Bob Castle, the Kansas City Butcher boy.  Castillo and Castle were chosen for the bout from a possible field of three matches, partially as the result of a poll of Lane wrestling fans and partially because of the imprudence of Lightning Rod Fenton Monday night in Portland.

When the three combinations were listed in Sunday’s Register-Guard, fans were urged to write or call in, telling their preference.  Combination No. 1 pitted Castillo and Castle.  No. 2 was Castle and Sugai.  No. 3 matched Robin Reed and Lightning Rod Fenton.

Fenton Settles It

There was a deluge of replies, and they were pretty evenly distributed between No. 1 and No. 3, with a lesser number for No. 2.  The choice, obviously, lay between Castillo-Castle battle and an imbroglio between Reed and Fenton.  That was Herb Owen’s dilemma, and the Lightning Rod obligingly solved it for him.

Monday night at the Labor Temple in Portland Fenton was foolish enough to knock the referee out of the ring.  Even more foolishly, he followed him out.  Sprang into “murderer’s row”, a section of ringsides at the Portland arena invariably filled with husky gentlemen who like nothing better than battering a wrestler.  Fenton came out of the scrap with a cut leg, a black eye, two missing teeth and other less serious injuries.  He’ll be out of the game for at least two weeks.

Castillo’s Case

So, it will be Castillo and Castle.  Considering the efforts the Spaniard has put forth to angle the match, it’s only just that he should have it.  Castillo wired the sporting editors of both Eugene papers, plead long and loud with Herb Owen, offered to meet Castle anywhere and anytime, but preferably in Eugene.

“I was taken unfair advantage of,” said he.  “My position as referee was infringed by Castle, and I was made ridiculous while doing my best to perform my duties.  In addition to that, I received a bad cauliflower ear.  I have always been careful of my ears, and this is the first time, in all my experience, that I have ever had one.  I had planned to leave for Los Angeles last Friday.  My tickets were purchased, my baggage checked.  But after what happened Thursday night, I feel that I must vindicate myself with Eugene fans, and at the same time inflict a suitable punishment upon the man who ruined my ear.”

 

Here’s Telegram

“Sure, I’ll rassle him anytime,” Castle said, when asked for his reaction to the bout.  “If he’s as much of a sucker for a right to the button when he’s rasslin’ as when he’s refereein’, it’ll be easy.  And remember, who ever referees this match can learn a lesson from last week.  That’s to leave me alone while I’m workin’!

Here’s the telegram received from Portland Tuesday morning, sent by Mr. Castillo as part of his campaign to get the match with Castle:

PR118 60 PORTLAND ORG 27
DICK JOHNSTON
REGISTER GUARD EUGENE
I BELIEVE I WAS TAKEN UNFAIR ADVANTAGE OF BY MR. CASTLE IN AS MUCH AS HE DID NOT RESPECT MY POSITION AS REFEREE & I FEEL THAT I DESERVE A MATCH WITH HIM REGARDLESS OF WEATHER IT IS PRELIMINARY OR MAIN EVENT IN YOUR CAPACITY AS SPORTING EDITOR WOULD APPRECIATE YOU HELP TO INVESTIGATE SUCH A MATCH IN EUGENE
PASCUAL CASTILLO

Leave a Reply

